Friday, April 30, 2010

National Poetry Competition open for entries

deadline - 31 October 2010
Now in its 33rd year, the Poetry Society’s National Poetry Competition
is one of the world’s biggest and most prestigious poetry competitions.

Winners include both established and emerging poets and for many the
prize has proved an important milestone in their professional careers.
Add your name to a roll-call of winners that includes Carol Ann Duffy,
Ian Duhig, Philip Gross, and Jo Shapcott – and have your work published
in the Poetry Society’s leading international journal, Poetry Review.
The judges this year are poets George Szirtes, Deryn Rees-Jones and
Sinéad Morrissey.

The prizes are £5,000 for the overall winner, £2,000 for the second,
£1,000 for the third and seven commendations of £100.
Enter online or download an entry form at